The Milkmaid Folk Arts Centre
Thursday Folk Club
Home
Click Image for Home Page
Copyright © 2010 -2014
Site Design: Steve Martin C.A.T.

  Home    News    Reviews    Gallery

Home News Reviews Gallery

Milkmaid Concert site

About

About

Reviews

Reviews



Thursday 20th February  Erin Brown & Matt Cudby

This was Erin and Matts first time playing the Thursday Club and they went down a storm. They’ve both played the Milkmaid on Fridays but this was a completely new experience for them. They said they both enjoyed performing and were most impressed at how everybody joined in. They said they want to come back and the audience agreed. So we’ll sort something out for later in the year.


Thursday 16th January 2014

Unfortunately this evening had to be cancelled as everybody involved behind the scenes were poorly. We managed to let everybody know in time and to my knowledge no one arrived and were disappointed..-  Terry Walden


Saturday 14th December 2013 Milkmaid Mind Set  

As always we had a great party dancing to Mind Set and sampling delights from the buffet. Mind Set are very good at performing songs that get everybody on their feet and  bopping away and all seemed to enjoy the now annual bash at the St Johns Centre. This year we had a lot more gentleman and only a few ladies attend so the ladies were in great demand for a dance or two. They must have gone home exhausted. We always have great fun and look forward to next year as always.-  Terry Walden


Thursday 21st November 2013 Robert Rigby

Robert made a welcome return to the Thursday Club and engaged very quickly with the audience. He got them singing all sorts of songs and they kept repeating them until they got it right. He even persuaded a carer (Rachael) to sing a duet with him. Robert is very experienced in working with people with learning disabilities and will be leading a new drama project we hope to start next year.

I’d like to remind people that the Christmas Party is on Saturday 14th December and will be at The St Johns Centre in Bury St Edmunds.  It is £3 entry which includes a buffet (if carers are having the buffet then it will cost them £3) It starts at 7pm and finishes at 10pm

Please contact me in advance to order your ticket!-  Terry Walden


June 2012 to October 2013

I’m sorry I haven’t kept on top of the reviews. There has been one thing after another that’s stopped me doing them.Since May 2012 we have been privileged to have performing for us:Penni McLaren Walker, Robert Rigby twice, Nancy Kerr & James Fagan, Pete Morton, Crucible, Sara Eden & Graeme Gosling twice, Mind Set twice, Anthony John Clarke, Jess & Richard Arrowsmith, Brooks Williams twice and Two Coates Colder.All gave fantastic performances and as always everybody who attended had a great time.

Our Patron Phil Beer is coming to play for us in March 2014.

At the beginning of 2013 it was decided that Milkmaid Molly would change to the 1st Thursday of the month and would be held at The Constitutional Club. The 3rd Thursday would be for Buddies only.

The Mollies performed at Oxjam 2012, The Ely Folk Festival 2013 and recently at Oxjam 2013. There have been a couple of pub dance outs as well.

We are starting an instrument making and music day class very shortly so contact me for information. -  Terry Walden


Thursday 17th May  2012 The Invisible Navvies of Utopia

This month saw the return of The Invisible Navvies of Utopia. This is Steve’s Ceilidh band that have played on four other occasions for us. The Navvies performed a wonderful two sets of traditional Irish songs and tunes that had everybody foot tapping and dancing. This is probably the kind of folk music our members enjoy most and it showed. Milkmaid Molly continued practising next door and they came in and gave us a demonstration. We’ll soon be deciding on colours and dress.


Thursday 19th April 2012 Penni McLaren Walker and Bryan Causton

Penni and Bryan played for us a couple of years ago so it was nice to invite them back to The Thursday Club. Unfortunately I couldn’t make this one but Steve and Adrian stepped in to host the evening. They’ve told me it was a really entertaining, full of fun concert with the audience full of enthusiasm for joining in. Milkmaid Molly practised in the bar as the usual room we use was set up for something else.


Thursday 15th March 2012 Vicki Swan and Jonny Dyer

It was good to welcome old friends of The Thursday Club back to play for us. Vicki and Jonny said they love playing for us and always enjoy themselves when they are with us.

Lots of dancing and singing they gave us another memorable time at the apex. In the room next door Gill Bosley with Milkmaid Molly were practising dance routines and teaching several members who are getting on really well. All in all a great night.


Thursday 16th February 2012 The Ceilidh Allstars

Thursday evening at the apex was the first time we held the folk club while there was a concert going on in the auditorium. It worked very well and neither event received noise bleed all night. Shows how good the sound proofing is there! It was a pleasure to have the Ceilidh Allstars performing for us. They did lots of dancing tunes and songs you could sing to. Another small audience but we thoroughly enjoyed Penni and Hazel ‘s playing and singing.

Penni will be back in April with Brian Causton


Thursday 19thJanuary 2012 Robert Rigby

Robert Rigby was making his 3rd visit to The Milkmaid Thursday Club and his first to the apex. Robert has an amazing repertoire of all sorts of songs which the small audience really enjoyed. With lots of dancing and singing the evening passed through very quickly. All in all a very successful return to The folk club.


Saturday 16th December 2011 Thursday Club Christmas Party

Unfortunately due to ill health we had to postpone the Christmas Party with Mind Set. It was to be held at The St Johns Centre.

We will endeavour to go ahead with this as soon as arrangements can be made. It will probably be in February!


Thursday 17th November 2011 Back In Tune

Back In Tune’s repertoire is Irish, Scottish and English Dance tunes and our audience really spent the whole evening dancing. We had the pleasure of Gill Bosley from The Green Dragons Morris Side come to help us with dancing. Between volunteer Jan and Gill a lot of people were waltzing and ‘sort of quick stepping’ along to this lovely band.

Unfortunately Steve couldn’t make this evening due to circumstances; it’s a good job really because I might have asked him to dance, because it was that good.


Thursday 20th October 2011 Vicki Swann & Johnny Dyer

It was about time we invited Vicki and Johnny back to The Thursday Club. These two lovely people were the second act to play for us and this was their fifth time at the club. They were absolutely on top form and went through a repertoire of songs from all over Europe. We had to guess where some of them came from which was great fun and enjoyed by all. Lots of singing and percussion playing and of course our old friend Mark  helping out on guitar. We used ballroom in the Athenaeum for this one as the apex was fully booked. We also welcomed Jan Robinson to our team of volunteers.


Thursday 15th September 2011 Mind Set

Back from the summer break we invited Mind Set to come back and play for us. As always their performance got everybody up dancing. We have invited Mind Set to play ay our Christmas Party in December.


Thursday 21st July 2011 Mind Set

Suffolk Minds music group came and entertained us this evening in our new venue which is in The Studio at the apex. Called Mind Set they gave us over an hour of good rock, blues and pop covers as well as some of their own material. Not much folk apart from some Paul Simon and Bob Dylan but a great night none the less. Mind Set are a great favourite of The Thursday Folk Club. We’re persuading them to do some folk rock numbers.


Thursday 16th June 2011 Brooks Williams

Brooks Williams made his second appearance at The Milkmaid Thursday Folk Club. We met in a temporary venue which was The Constitutional Club (home to The Milkmaid Folk Club). Brooks as always was a delight and he performed lots of songs people could dance to and join in with percussion instruments. Another great night was had by all.


Thursday 19th May 2011 Ewan McLellan

We were privileged to have Ewan McLennan perform for us this evening. Ewan won the Horizon Award at the BBC Radio 2 Folk awards at the beginning of the year and his career is beginning to take off. He played lots of Scottish songs and tunes as well as his own compositions. A star in the making.

This was our last meeting at The Bury Resource Centre.


Thursday 14th April 11 Ian Bruce

A bit of a misunderstanding about this gig. Although flyers and the website gave the date people seemed to think it was on next week. Consequently we couldn’t get in the Bury Resource Centre and had to do some quick thinking. A big thank you to Suffolk Mind for allowing us to use their building in Long Brackland. They saved the day. A few people managed to come along and we had a lovely intimate evening singing and laughing with Ian. He sang some great sing-a-long songs and had Heather from Ely up on stage with him playing the Bodhran and of course faithful Mark on guitar.


Thursday 17th March 2011 Pete Morton

A very lively evening with Pete Morton making his first appearance at the Thursday Club. Pete sang songs from his vast repertoire of self-penned songs along with requested old songs to sing along with. The large audience danced and sang all night and played their percussion instruments with great passion. Another brilliant night at the Resource Centre.


Thursday 17th February 2011 Hickman & Quinn

I’m afraid I missed this due to an accident but I hear from everybody that it was a great evening. Chris and James are virtuoso guitarists and have a great vocal sound and I understand they had the audience joining in and participating all through the evening. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves and would like to come back. I reckon they will!


Thursday 20th January 2011 Brooks Williams

We had a great time with Brooks Williams a fantastic guitarist and singer of blues and country blues. Brooks comes from the USA but has made Cambridge his home. He is regarded as being in the top 100 guitarists in the world so it was a privilege to have him at the resource centre.  


Saturday 11th December Christmas Ceilidh with The Invisible Navvies of Utopia

What a great Christmas Party we had with The Navvies. I don’t think there was anyone that didn’t enjoy themselves. Everybody joined in with the dancing led by caller Birgitta who did a fantastic job teaching people the steps. The Navvies were on top form and have become another firm favourite with the regulars.

Another great Christmas party at the folk club that will be remembered for a long time.


Thursday 18th November Vicki Swann and Jonny Dyer

This was Vicki and Jonnys fourth time at The Milkmaid Thursday Folk Club.

Lots of tunes and lots of singing made our energetic audience make sure they went home with a big smile on their face. These two lovely people are always popular at the folk club and we look forward to booking them again next year.


Thursday 21st October 2010 Mind Set

Wow, what a powerful exciting evening this was. Mind Set who performed at our 2009 Christmas party gave us lots of 50’s, 60’s, 70’s and 80’s soft rock numbers as well as some of their own folky compositions and some Blues towards the end. These lovely people are from the very successful West Suffolk Mind music group and are fab.


Thursday 16th September 2010 Robert Rigby

Another evening featuring Robert Rigby who has become a firm favourite with our regular audience, This was Roberts third visit and what a great one it was.

Plenty of singing and dancing amused the huge audience that had people from Thetford, Stowmarket, Haverhill, Sudbury and Newmarket as well as our regulars from Bury. Fantastic stuff.


Thursday 15th July 2010  Kiss The Mistress

A late booking, Kiss The Mistress stepped in at the last minute to entertain our fantastic Thursday Club crowd. This is the fourth time they have appeared at The Milkmaid Thursday Folk club and they tell me it’s one of the bookings they look forward to most. We have lots of dancers who enjoy stepping out to Jigs and Reels and they were out in force this evening. Good audience participation in singing and percussion playing. Two people brought two shakers they had made out of empty plastic bottles. They had even decorated them. Fantastic!!!!


Thursday 17th June 2010 The Delarre Brothers

Dave and Jamie Delarre were our guests for this evening.  They both perform in the much acclaimed band Mawkin:Causley. Guitarist Dave played at our very first Thursday Club two years ago with the lovely Laurel Swift. This was his fourth appearance having played with fiddle player Jamie on three other occasions for us.

We were treated to absolute virtuoso musicianship during the 60 minutes they played for us. Tunes from all around the world were requested by our 54 strong audience who joined in with some fantastic percussion playing. A great night indeed!


Thursday 6th May 2010 Anthony John Clarke

What an evening this turned out to be. First of all we were locked out of the Resource Centre and then Steve couldn’t make it as his car was being repaired and not finished,

It was cold waiting outside the venue but lovely Dave from Chestnuts saved the day by suggesting we use their respite centre for the evening. We had 25 miserable and cold people very pleased at this suggestion as well as  Anthony John and  Julia who had driven four and a half hours from Liverpool to perform for us.

After a short drive and settling everybody in AJ and his lovely wife gave an hours worth of splendid songs, tunes and lots of laughter. The day had been saved and didn’t we enjoy it?


Thursday 22nd April 2010 Kevin Dempsey & Joe Broughton

Kevin and Joe delighted the 50 odd audience with their virtuoso fiddle and guitar playing. Every body were up on their feet dancing and singing having a great time.

They were asked to perform Cliff Richards  ‘Bachelor Boy’ which they didn’t know bar the chorus and first verse but did an impromptu version in the 2nd half which went down a storm. A great night.


Thursday 18th March 2010 Vicki Swan & Jonny Dyer

Vicki and Jonny made a welcome return to the Thursday Folk club and as always gave us a fantastic evening. They are firm favourites with our extremely receptive audience who joined in with singing and dancing the whole night. It was probably the best percussion playing from an audience we’ve had to date as well. Great stuff!


Thursday 18th February 2010 Kiss the Mistress

Kiss the Mistress are becoming firm favorites at our Thursday Club. Lots of tunes and songs meant lots of singing and dancing. Combined with some excellent percussion from the highly charged audience meant we all had a fabulous time.


Thursday 21st January 2010 Robert Rigby

Robert made his second appearance at The Milkmaid Thursday Folk Club and made another great impact with our audience. He likes audience participation and invited us all to join him in lots of movement and singing. He even got me and Steve up to sing as well (ear plugs please). Great stuff!


Saturday 12th December 2009 Christmas Party with Mind Set

A marvellous end to the old year saw Mind Set come and play for us at our Christmas Party.

An incredible performance by this wonderful set of people who formed a band out of West Suffolk Mind’s music group. Ably assisted by three Mind staff and a couple of volunteers Mind Set are made up of service users that have a mental health issue but have overcome their difficulties to play music.

It was a unique moment have one service user group perform for others. Great stuff indeed.

The Buffet supplied by Toppers was superb and was enjoyed by everybody.

A great big thank you to Suffolk County Council, to the Bury Resource Centre Staff, various Care Staff and Volunteers that make these evenings so successful. Without them it would be impossible to do.

The next Thursday Club is on Thursday 21st January 2010 featuring the return of Robert Rigby. See you there?


Thursday 19th November 2009 The Invisible Navvies of Utopia

A welcome return by The Navvies to The Milkmaid Thursday Club. After a fantastic Christmas Ceilidh 2008 it was time this band came back to The Milkmaid Thursday Club. They again didn’t disappoint, lively tunes, soulful ballads and humorous songs gave the audience of nearly sixty people a wonderful evening full of dance singing and percussion playing. They allowed a couple of people up on stage to join in with the band which was brilliant. We’ll definately have them back next year.


Thursday 15th October 2009 Mind Set

A bit different this one, it was a lot more rockier. Mind Set who are made up of members of West Suffolk Minds music group did us proud by performing two sets of driving folk/pop and rock music.

Nearly 70 people attended and most were on the dance floor.

We’ve asked them back to play at our Christmas party.


Thursday 16th September 2009 Robert Rigby

What another great evening we had with Robert Rigby. I’ve known Robert since I was 11 yrs old. I new he would give us a fun packed night. Lots of dancing and singing plus we were part of a play as well. Nearly 60 people attended and they all went home with a smile on their face.


Saturday 25th July Disability Club

We have changed the name of the Milkmaid Disability Folk Club to The Milkmaid Thursday Folk Club. It sounds much nicer and we feel it’s more appropriate.


Thursday 16th July 2009 Kiss the Mistress

Kiss the Mistress made their second appearance at the folk club and were as good as the last time they played for us. The first half was full of songs and singing followed by lots of dancing in the second period. We had our biggest audience yet with over 50 people enjoying them selves.


Thursday 18th June 2009 The Invisible Navvies of Utopia

What a fantastic evening we had with plenty of singing, dancing and loads and loads of fun. The Navvies were a great hit at our Christmas Ceilidh and they didn’t disappoint.  Its nights like this that make people come back for more.


Thursday 21st May 2009 Bram Taylor

Folk Club and Festival favourite Bram Taylor performed a wonderful two sets for the greatly motivated audience. How they sang and danced to Brams exquisite singing and musicianship and laughed at his jokes. A great time enjoyed by all.


Thursday 16th April 2009 Penni Mclaren Walker and Bryan Causton

Penni Mclaren Walker and Bryan Causton were the guests at our folk club for people with disabilities and were an absolute knock out. Tunes and songs with lots of banter  gave the audience an evening that was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Lots of dancing , lots of singing and lots of laughter what more could you want?


Thursday 16th March 2009 Kiss The Mistress

A small audience saw Kiss The Mistress perform fantastically well. What fun this energetic crowd had joining in with the songs and dancing to the tunes, reels and jigs. Cello, fiddle, melodeon and vocals were of the highest quality as were the staff who really got quite involved joining in during the evening.

We’ll definitely book KTM again.


Thursday 19th February 2009 Vicki Swan and Jonny Dyer

We have changed venues, moving from The Info Bar in Whiting Street up to The Bury Resource Centre in Hollow Road near British Sugar. The reason being it is a much bigger venue so we can cope with bigger audiences.

Vicki Swan and Jonny Dyer were our guests for this evening making their second appearance at The Milkmaid Disability Folk Club. As always they were brilliant performing their songs and tunes with great skill and virtuosity. They gave the audience a lot of time and made sure they could join in at every opportunity. Whether it was vocals, playing percussion instruments or just dancing. During the interval they made themselves available to show people various instruments and to allow them a hands on experience with The Scottish Small Pipes.  Another lovely evening.


Thursday 15th January 2009

Unfortunately Anthony John Clarke had to cancel his gig with us due to an unforeseen problem but fortunately Dave and James Delarre from Mawkin:Causley were free for the evening and did us proud once again. Their tunes, songs and stories were received with great rapture from the audience of 48.

Once more our folk thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment by joining in with singing and playing percussion instruments as well as dancing to a lot of the tunes.


Saturday 6th December  2008

Christmas Ceilidh - Click here for details

Wow, what a fantastic evening we had at The Resource Centre in Hollow Road Bury St Edmunds.

It was The Milkmaid Disability Folk Clubs Christmas Ceilidh led by Irish Band The Invisible Navvies of Utopia and their caller Birgitta.

A well planned couple of sets alternating between songs and dances. The musicians performed their socks off to a hugely appreciative audience that certainly enjoyed themselves. Birgitta was outstanding as caller and taught people the dances and adapted them to suit certain disabilities. It’s not easy performing to people that have certain disabilities but the band in this instance were really magnificant and engaged the audience with respect and humility.

Toppers in Bury St Edmunds supplied the Buffet and I have to say it was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed by everybody.


Thursday 20th November 2008

We were blessed having two fifths of Mawkin:Causley performing for us at The Info Bar on Thursday night. These two virtuoso musicians blew us all away with their tunes and…..wait for it,,,,,vocals from David.

David demonstrated Suffolk Step dance to the audience and invited them to take part in what turned out to be a packed stage area with lots of people strutting or should I say stepping their stuff.

All of us at the folk club want to congratulate Mawkin:Causley in being nominated for best band in the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards coming soon.


Thursday 16th October 2008

The acclaimed traditional singer and storyteller Pete Castle was the guest for our third Disability Folk Club.

This evening was a bit different to the others as Pete told several stories as well as performing songs. He invited the audience to join in with songs and choruses, which they did with great enthusiasm. His songs as well as his storytelling were a combination of humour, silliness and fun.

This club is proving to be very successful and rewarding for people with disabilities and is going from strength to strength.


Thursday 18th September 2008

The effervescent duo Vicki Swan and Jonny Dyer performed for us at the Info Bar on Thursday.

Bringing an assortment of instruments including the amazing Swedish Nyckelharper they enthralled the audience with their beautiful songs and amazing tunes. The evening consisted of part concert and part workshop allowing people to ‘have a go’ on the different stringed and percussion instruments on offer. Vicki and Jonny gave demonstrations to individuals as well as the group as a whole. It proved to be a very successful evening that was thoroughly enjoyed by all.


Thursday 17th July 2008

Our first folk club for people with disabilities proved to be very successful.

David Delarre from Mawkin and Laurel Swift from Shooting Roots entertained fifteen enthusiastic newcomers to the folk scene.

They put on a show that was part concert, part dance (Step and Morris) and a little bit of workshop. We were all amazed by the height of some of Laurel’s leaps in her Morris dancing.

Knowing some of the audience, we were amazed at how attentive they were for an hour and a half. Even the Carers’ joined in. with the singing and percussion parts of the evening.

One of the group was keen to show off his guitar skills and Dave very kindly tuned his guitar to a modal ‘D’ so that he could join in with a couple of the tunes.